Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster logo


Information Box Group


The Institute for Materials Research was renamed the Brockhouse Institute for Materials Research (BIMR), in honour of Professor Brockhouse.

The BIMR was awarded a $1.3-million NSERC major installation grant for a new Field Emission Gun Scanning Transmission Electron Microscope.


The new Annex to the Arthur Bourns Building was completed, housing 2 floors of labs dedicated to polymer and materials chemistry.